Christmas OHJGS Event and Lunch – Walton Heath

A terrific day out at Walton Heath on Friday for our first OHJGS Winter Meeting.

We were pleased to welcome David Gibson who was playing with the Society for the first time, and also Mike Joly who had made the long journey from Eastbourne and attended his first official OHJGS event – a warm welcome to you both.

As with all our meetings this year we stepped out onto the golf course in brilliant sunshine. This proved a slight problem in the early holes as we were driving directly into the bright, low sun. Despite heavy overnight rain the course was in good condition and the greens as fast as ever.

The scores were well spread and in the end it was the lower handicap players who came out on top.

We were delighted to be joined by our ex-president, Keith Jenkin, who watched all the players come up the 18th, and we all then had a welcome lunch in the Fowler Room. We took the opportunity to have prize-giving at the same time.

Singles stableford on the Old Course playing for the St Etheldreda Cup

Jeremy Waud 35 points
Simon Clapham 32
Dan Burstow 32

Guests and Honorary members

Sam Fulcher 32 points
Simon Harrison 29
Jeremy Williamson 26

As this was the final meeting of the year we were also able to present the Henderson Trophy. This is a scratch stableford competition, and the Cup is awarded to the player who has the highest number of scratch points over their 2 best rounds during the year. For the 9th consecutive year it was won by Dan Burstow with 65 points.

During the prize-giving a special presentation was made – namely a photo-montage – to Keith Jenkin for his unstinting 6 decades of loyal support to the OHJGS. Dudley Stratford, the current President, made the presentation.

Match Time Players HCPs
1 9.00 Rick Holgate 10
John Fraser 18
Mike Joly 17
Simon Harrison – (Guest) 12
2 9.10 Simon Clapham 8
Dudley Stratford 16
Steve Waud 17
Jeremy Williamson 23
3 9.20 Dan Burstow 3
Ross Howlett – (Guest) 10
Derick Fulcher 14
Kevin Hagan – (Guest) 14
4 9.30 Jeremy Waud 6
Mark Baldock 8
David Gibson – (OJ Guest) 24
Rob McCowen 14
5 9.40 Nick Budge 8
Graham Negus 28
Sam Fulcher – (Guest) 12
Paul Davis – (Guest) 21

Our next meeting is the AGM and dinner in London on 13th January.